African Continental Free Trade Area – AfCFTA Facts

Signatories: 54 out of 55 African Union Member StatesRatifications: 31 African Union Member States AfCFTA negotiations launched: 15 June 2015, Johannesburg AfCFTA Treaty signature: 21 March 2018, Kigali Formal entry into force: 30 May 2019 Operationalisation phase launched: 7 July 2019, Niamey Trading under the AfCFTA expected to commence on: 1 Jul 2020 Negotiations coordinated by: African Union Commission, Department of Trade and Industry Geo coverage: Africa Union and its Member States. The AfCFTA complements existing regional trade agreements in […]

Read more