Africa Oil Week is known for gathering vast numbers of African and international energy ministers

African Union Commission, AfCFTA and former heads of state from Nigeria and Malawi amongst first government leaders confirmed for Africa Oil Week 2021

Hyve Group Plc, organisers of Africa Oil Week ( have released the first line-up of Ministers who will be attending the 2021 event due to take place in Dubai 8-11 November.

The initial line-up consists of two former African Presidents, Commissioner for the African Union Commission, Secretary General for AfCFTA and Ministers from Ethiopia, Kenya, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Republic of Congo, Gambia, Mali, Burkina Faso and Djibouti. This initial line-up suggests government presence at Africa Oil Week 2021 will be as strong as ever.

Paul Sinclair, VP of Energy and Government Relations for Africa Oil Week said “Governments are an integral part of Africa Oil Week and we are delighted to be able to provide the sector with much needed direct access to these leaders. Discussions onsite will take the form of 15+ National Energy Showcases, ministerial panel discussions and pre-arranged 1-2-1 meetings and will help to drive investment and advance energy projects in to, and across Africa.”

Africa Oil Week is known for gathering vast numbers of African and international energy ministers and acts as a deal-making platform for the most senior stakeholders within the African upstream industry.

Foday Mansaray, Director General for Sierra Leone’s Petroleum Directorate who has also confirmed his participation said “We are very much looking forward to attending Africa Oil Week in Dubai in November. We look forward to participating in the event and presenting opportunities that Sierra Leone has.”

To date, the following Ministers and government leaders have been announced to attend Africa Oil Week 2021:

H.E. Olusegun Obasanjo, Former President of Nigeria

H.E. Dr. Peter Arthur Mutharika, Former President of Malawi

H.E. Amani Abou-Zeid, Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, African Union Commission

H.E Wamkele Keabetswe Mene, Secretary General of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA)

Hon. Jean-Marc Thystere Tchicaya, Minister of Hydrocarbons, Republic of Congo

Hon. Abdirashiid Mohamed Ahmed, Minister of Petroleum & Mineral Resources, Republic of Somalia

Hon. Timothy Kabba, Minister of Mineral Resources, Republic of Sierra Leone

Hon. Hon. John Munyes, Cabinet Sec Ministry of Petroleum & Mining, Republic of Kenya

Hon. Dr. Koang Tutlam, State Minister of Mines, Petroleum & Natural Gas, Republic of Ethiopia

Hon. Fafa Sayang, Minister of Energy and Petroleum, Republic of Gambia

Hon. Lamine Seydou Traore, Minister of Energy and Water, Republic of Mali

Hon. Bachir Ismael, Minister of Energy, Republic of Burkina Faso

Hon. Yonis Ali Guedi, Minister of Energy, Republic of Djibouti

Atty. Saifuah-Mai Gray, CEO, National Oil Company of Liberia

Hon. Archie Donmo, Director General, Liberia Petroleum Regulatory Authority

Francis Gatare, CEO, Rwanda Mining Petroleum and Gas Board

Proscovia Nabbanja, Ag. Chief Executive Officer, Uganda National Oil Company

Ms. Asha Omar, CEO, Somalia Petroleum Authority

Foday Mansaray, Director General, Petroleum Directorate of Sierra Leone

Maixent Raoul Ominga, Head, SNPC, Republic of Congo

Jerreh Barrow, Commissioner for Petroleum, Ministry of Petroleum & Energy, Republic of Gambia

Dr. Solomon Kassa, Director for Petroleum Exploration, Ministry of Mines and Petroleum, Republic of Ethiopia

Ibrahim Djamous, Director Gen Hydrocarbon, SHT, Republic of Chad

Mr. Famourou Kourouma, Director General ONAP, Republic of Guinea

Alem Kibreab, Director General of the Department of Mines at the Ministry of Energy and Mines, Eritrea

For more information on the Ministers and government leaders attending, please click here (

On behalf of Africa Oil Week Abbie Coonan